2021 Annual Meeting: 
A Virtual Success!

PAISBOA's 2021 Annual Meeting, held on Wednesday, May 5, was the highlight of the 2020-2021 season, one that, due to
the continuing restrictions of COVID-19, remained virtual.

The meeting's theme, Fostering The Resilient Business Office Team, reflected PAISBOA's focus this year due to the ongoing impact of COVID-19 on all aspects of life and work. As always, PAISBOA strives to meet our mission while doing everything we can to live our value proposition: to create savings in both time and money while providing useful resources and expanded knowledge to our members.

Approximately 120 members and vendors participated in the virtual program, which included our celebration of the legacy of John Batley and the presentation of a new award for "Service to the Flock."

Following the business meeting, attendees had the chance to visit with our 25 vendors and sponsors at the virtual Vendor Showcase, where members could live chat and learn more about their programs and services.

Special Thanks to our Sponsors








Fisher Phillips ~ Paymerang ~ Staples
Philip Rosenau Co., a division of Imperial Dade


A.W.G. Dewar, Inc. ~ Bryn Mawr Trust ~ Independence Blue Cross
ConnectOne Bank

Bolton and Company ~ D.A. Davidson ~ isolved
Provident Energy Consulting

AblePay Health ~ Blue Bell Leasing Co. ~ Derck & Edson
Enterprise ~ FACTS ~ F.C. Haab Co., Inc. ~ Prelude Solutions
Voith and Mactavish Architects ~ Waste Management


Awards and Recognitions

The highlight of the morning was the presentation of the John Batley Award, presented for 2021 to Tom Taft of Germantown Academy. Tom was honored for his many years of service to PAISBOA and the PAISBOA Health Benefit Trust, where he currently serves as Vice-Chair. Read more about Tom and the Batley presentation HERE.

PAISBOA also honored three long-time key volunteers for PAISBOA and the PAISBOA Services Corporation. Chair Emeritus Mark Gibbons of La Salle College High School steps down from his position, as does PAISBOA Services Corporation President Justin Wheeler of Delaware Valley Friends School.

In addition, Tom Devine, who recently left his position at Merion Mercy Academy to resume his career outside of education, was honored with the first Service to the Flock Award, which recognizes a PAISBOA member who has demonstrated excellence in their service to the PAISBOA flock. Through their exemplary professionalism and achievements, they have supported their colleagues while advancing the mission and goals of PAISBOA.

Tom has been an integral part of the leadership of PAISBOA for the past five years, serving as Board Secretary. He also served as chair of the nominating committee, and has recruited a number of outstanding board members to both PAISBOA and the Services Corporation Boards.  If that wasn’t enough, Tom chaired the "Survey Gurus" Group, which is responsible for the PAISBOA Annual Data Survey, and under his leadership, PAISBOA moved to a new platform and provider for the survey.  He also spent countless hours mapping from one platform to the other and ensuring that the ratios that all business officers rely on made it into the most recent iteration of the financial operation and salary surveys. Thanks to Tom for all that he has done in service to PAISBOA and all of its members!

Incoming Officers and Board Members

The following Officers and Board Members were installed:

PAISBOA Services Corporation Board

Lisa Carbone Warren – Moorestown Friends School - President
Scott Faulkingham - The Hill School - Secretary
Stephen Valentine - Milton Hershey School - Treasurer
David Woodford – Chestnut Hill College
Kate St. Clair – Gwynedd Mercy Academy High School
Elena Pike - Friends School Haverford

PAISBOA Board of Directors Executive Committee

Carolyn Hapeman - Westtown School - Chair
Adam Wojtelwicz – The Shipley School - Vice-Chair
Scott Faulkingham - The Hill School - Secretary
Stephen Valentine - Milton Hershey School - Treasurer

Incoming Board Members

Syreeta Bacon - Media Providence Friends School
Becky McCudden - Sanford School
Jennifer Sharp - Miquon School